DOD Delete | How much $ did it run you?

Tech discussions on the L77 6.0L V8.
lsxJERRY

DOD Delete | How much $ did it run you?

Post by lsxJERRY »

So I'm currently talking to 2 shops in the Chicagoland area about installing my Solo Cat-back and possibly doing a DOD delete.
I'm not gonna mention names so I'll refer to them as: SHOP A & SHOP B
SHOP A
SHOP B

SHOP B Tells me they cannot do the exhaust. But I trust them a bit more, they've been around longer and they seem to give me more for my money.
This is my first time going to a speed shop so i'm trying to make the best decision. Trying to do stuff on a deadline too doesn't help :lol:

From what I can see, SHOP B seems like the better choice.
Last edited by lsxJERRY on Thu Jul 21, 2016 11:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Raunchtastic

Re: DOD Delete | How much $ did it run you?

Post by Raunchtastic »

The $750-$1,800 is probably only covering the labor. Removing a camshaft is typically a time-consuming process. That being said, $500 for a custom-grind is probably not needed. I would just buy a tried and true cam from the likes of Livenois, Comp, etc. They seem to run from $300-450.
-----------------------------------------------------------
2012 Chevrolet Caprice "The Daily"
1992 Chevrolet Camaro RS 25th anniversary "The Wannabe Racecar"
lsxJERRY

Post by lsxJERRY »

Raunchtastic wrote:The $750-$1,800 is probably only covering the labor. Removing a camshaft is typically a time-consuming process. That being said, $500 for a custom-grind is probably not needed. I would just buy a tried and true cam from the likes of Livenois, Comp, etc. They seem to run from $300-450.
Yeah they pretty much have to get down to the heads to do the job. I like that Shop B is just using a mild comp cam versus going custom grind. Plus don't think the oil pump was really necessary.
Raunchtastic

Post by Raunchtastic »