New Caprice - Discussion forums

The worldwide owner-to-owner online support system for the Chevrolet Caprice PPV
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:34 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 11:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:12 am
Posts: 139
Location: South Bend, IN
so i finally got around to enabling this (i ended up getting a bcm pigtail out of a junkyard impala to harvest pins) i moved the tcs and sport mode female pins in the shifter connector to 1 and 4, (i'm rewiring those elswhere) but at x20 was i supposed to remove the wire that was in there or splice into it?

it sort of works, but nothing is shown on the DIC

and i think the car doesn't like it, i got on it a little bit in first with it in selectshift mode and it gor up near 5-6k (wasnt looking at the tach) and lurched, hard. not sure if it bounced off the limiter or something else


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 2:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:06 pm
Posts: 243
Location: Metro Detroit MI
indianajoe wrote:
so i finally got around to enabling this (i ended up getting a bcm pigtail out of a junkyard impala to harvest pins) i moved the tcs and sport mode female pins in the shifter connector to 1 and 4, (i'm rewiring those elswhere) but at x20 was i supposed to remove the wire that was in there or splice into it?

it sort of works, but nothing is shown on the DIC

and i think the car doesn't like it, i got on it a little bit in first with it in selectshift mode and it gor up near 5-6k (wasnt looking at the tach) and lurched, hard. not sure if it bounced off the limiter or something else


Did we program your BCM for this?

_________________
Chris White
http://www.whiteautoandmedia.com
2015 Jeep SRT - Stock for a hot minute.
2016 SRX - Custom BCM/HMI - More to come
2016 Yukon Denali XL - Custom BCM/HMI/IPC


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:12 am
Posts: 139
Location: South Bend, IN
Yes you did, it was a while ago though

Weve had a few email conversations about my vain attempts to get the dealers around me to turn on the remote start, and the last time they screwed up you mentioned the possibility of them messing up your work

Think it needs to be reprogrammed?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:06 pm
Posts: 243
Location: Metro Detroit MI
If they touched it after we did it more than likely yes.

_________________
Chris White
http://www.whiteautoandmedia.com
2015 Jeep SRT - Stock for a hot minute.
2016 SRX - Custom BCM/HMI - More to come
2016 Yukon Denali XL - Custom BCM/HMI/IPC


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:12 am
Posts: 139
Location: South Bend, IN
Your website says you're closed for another week, what kind of eta would I be looking at to have it checked out?

I actually was gonna send you an email about reprogramming it anyway because I have some aus market led taillights to hook up and I need the taillight splitting you did for Maurice


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 11:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:19 pm
Posts: 96
indianajoe wrote:
so i finally got around to enabling this (i ended up getting a bcm pigtail out of a junkyard impala to harvest pins) i moved the tcs and sport mode female pins in the shifter connector to 1 and 4, (i'm rewiring those elswhere) but at x20 was i supposed to remove the wire that was in there or splice into it?

it sort of works, but nothing is shown on the DIC

and i think the car doesn't like it, i got on it a little bit in first with it in selectshift mode and it gor up near 5-6k (wasnt looking at the tach) and lurched, hard. not sure if it bounced off the limiter or something else




The only thing off X2 pin 20 is the sport mode button on the 9C1 shifter. I removed the bcm terminal from X2 pin 20 and moved it to X1 pin 20. In my car, this wire was grey for some reason even though the diagrams show TN for the color. On the shifter side, this was in position 5. I moved it over to position 4.

In my car, before I did this, there was nothing in X1 pin 20.It was empty. X1 of course being the first connector into the bcm, and X2 is the second. Nothing really to splice there, it should just be one wire going from X1 20 to pin 4 of the shifter when you are done. Nothing in X2 pin 20 when I was done.

The splice was done on X1 pin 17, as that also sends reference voltage to the cruise control. Tap into that and run a line to pin one on the shifter connector.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:12 am
Posts: 139
Location: South Bend, IN
You're probably right about the pin numbers, but I had nothing in one (x20 I guess) and something in the other (x17) but I took the pin in x17 out and ran the wires from the shifter

Would leaving out the x17 pin make it not show on the display? I haven't tried cruise control since the install do I can't really check that


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:19 pm
Posts: 96
indianajoe wrote:
You're probably right about the pin numbers, but I had nothing in one (x20 I guess) and something in the other (x17) but I took the pin in x17 out and ran the wires from the shifter

Would leaving out the x17 pin make it not show on the display? I haven't tried cruise control since the install do I can't really check that


It won't display on the cluster unless you get the cluster reprogrammed to display it. There is different programming for the cluster for a 9C1 vs a 9C3.

So you took the existing wire out of X1 pin 17 and ran a wire from the shifter to X1 pin 17? If you look at the 2nd post from smwalker on the first page of this thread, you see the X17 circuit 1375 goes to a junction where it is split to the shifter and the cruise control. Does your cruise control still work?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:12 am
Posts: 139
Location: South Bend, IN
Haven't checked cruise yet, cars down for some other work right now too

I also noticed my tcs warning light is gone, been on as long as I've had the car. I'll have to try a burnout once it's back on the road


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:10 am
Posts: 5
im trying to follow this and need a little help.

Op is not only adding tap shift to a 9c12 but relocating the trac and sport buttons? Am I getting this right?

Also If you have a 9c1 and want to utilize tap shift after its been enabled one can harvest the wire and pins from other GM cars (someone said Impala?)

End game is I have this all turned on in the BCm and want to add the camaro paddles on the steering wheel.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group