Bizarre Electrical Problem - Looking for possible causes

Electronic systems, stereo and Holden iQ, wiring, it all goes here....
SomeoneStrange

Bizarre Electrical Problem - Looking for possible causes

Post by SomeoneStrange »

Hello! This is my first time posting, I was hoping I could get some advice on a slew of bizarre electrical problems that have popped up in my 9C1. Here's a list of everything that's going on:

1. Every so often, the taillights and reverse lights begin to flash in an alternating pattern rapidly, as if there were an active light rack on top of the car. They continue to flash even when the car is off! The only fix I've found is to disconnect the battery for a few hours so the system resets.

2. When #1 happens, the stereo in my car mutes itself and a prompt showing "Voice In" appears on the display. Lately, this has been happening every few minutes without the lights behaving weirdly.

3. I've noticed the sound of a relay in the driver's side floor panel tripping intermittently while driving - the relay also seems to trip whenever the brakes are pressed.

4. Similar to #3, if the vehicle is in park and the brakes are pressed, a large relay in the center console can be heard tripping.

All of these problems are intermittent, and sometimes difficult to repeat, which has stopped most mechanics from being able to find the issue. Can anyone think of a part I should be looking to inspect/replace? I'm more than happy to tear into the problem myself, but I'm not sure what I need to look for.

Thanks in advance!
9C1fanatic

Re: Bizarre Electrical Problem - Looking for possible causes

Post by 9C1fanatic »

Was your car formerly used by a police depart or other emergency services agency prior to your purchase of it?