New Caprice - Discussion forums

The worldwide owner-to-owner online support system for the Chevrolet Caprice PPV
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:29 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please note & respect that Chris has full-time employment and has only specific contact hours for his business. General questions can be posted here, but for specific individual needs please contact him via his website. Hours of operation are SAT & SUN from 10AM to 4PM Central time. Please only expect responses to EMAILS & forum posts during these times.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:16 pm 
Offline
System Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:32 pm
Posts: 1569
Location: East Central Florida
Chris,

Just to kick this thread off, there's a number of requests people have had for modifications to the Caprice electronics that will probably take a BCM reflash or other programming. Starting list is here... (not necessarily in order);

1) Enabling remote start (assuming all hardware is in place).
2) Undoing the 7Y6 dome lights modification (no dome lights when doors open).
3) Enabling theft alarm for vehicles provided without it.
4) Flashing 2011 clusters to the 2012 software to gain things like the total hour and idle hour counter.
5) Modifying the TPMS alarm settings for running lower tire pressures.
6) Reflashing clusters to gain settings left out on some programming versions (8/4 cylinder indication screen for instance).

And then there's the Holden iQ..... lot of content was shut off for the Caprices that's available on the Aus. cars. We understand that some of it (the Nav and the on-board ripping) is not possible without upgrading hardware. But, things like enabling the USB input, the backup cam, the aux inputs, should be possible. Tom Slick and ZerOne (Matti) have done a lot of work towards Holden iQ issues, but we're not all the way there yet. We know the Holden iQ work will be a combination of adding connectors along with programming, that issue is slowly being tackled as well.

So... just a starting list for you to look at. I'm sure there will be more down the road....

Eric

_________________
System Manager and your tourguide for the day. Caprice Alumni, former owner of a 2011 Caprice 9C3 with a Rotofab CAI and front radiator cover, 3.45 LSD Camaro rear diff, Chris Henry performance tune, G8 GT 18" Enkei rims w/Holden lions, custom SLP axle-back muffler set with tips, Holden WM Caprice factory spoiler, Holden SSV leather steering wheel and leather shift knob, Whelen Alpha-12Q airhorn amp. G8 GT rear seat swap, AVS Ventshades.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:43 pm 
Offline
Administration Staff

Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:30 pm
Posts: 1261
Location: Canton GA
"Normal" fog lamp function, or as possible on G8 (with WAMS BCM tweaks)--on with high beams, etc.

Maybe Chris can post a list of possibilities....how about power window control using key fob?

_________________
Bill Harper
inov8r@windstream.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 1:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:20 pm
Posts: 52
I am interested in those for sure. Don't all cars have the 4/8 cylinder screen? Mine has it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 8:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:06 pm
Posts: 242
Location: Metro Detroit MI
elc32955 wrote:
Chris,

Just to kick this thread off, there's a number of requests people have had for modifications to the Caprice electronics that will probably take a BCM reflash or other programming. Starting list is here... (not necessarily in order);

1) Enabling remote start (assuming all hardware is in place).
2) Undoing the 7Y6 dome lights modification (no dome lights when doors open).
3) Enabling theft alarm for vehicles provided without it.
4) Flashing 2011 clusters to the 2012 software to gain things like the total hour and idle hour counter.
5) Modifying the TPMS alarm settings for running lower tire pressures.
6) Reflashing clusters to gain settings left out on some programming versions (8/4 cylinder indication screen for instance).

And then there's the Holden iQ..... lot of content was shut off for the Caprices that's available on the Aus. cars. We understand that some of it (the Nav and the on-board ripping) is not possible without upgrading hardware. But, things like enabling the USB input, the backup cam, the aux inputs, should be possible. Tom Slick and ZerOne (Matti) have done a lot of work towards Holden iQ issues, but we're not all the way there yet. We know the Holden iQ work will be a combination of adding connectors along with programming, that issue is slowly being tackled as well.

So... just a starting list for you to look at. I'm sure there will be more down the road....

Eric


1. Consider this one done.
2. Also Done :)
3. I think this should be no problem as well.
4. Shouldn't be a problem as well, we do LOTS of work on AAPL/VDO clusters.
5. It would be a different module but this shouldn't be a problem either. There is some liability here so we'll have to figure this out.
6. Not a problem at all.

There really isn't a specific list I have of everything I can do but I'll entertain any ideas :) The window down function is only for new Global A vehicles so the NEW 2014's I could do this on actually.

_________________
Chris White
http://www.whiteautoandmedia.com
2015 Jeep SRT - Stock for a hot minute.
2016 SRX - Custom BCM/HMI - More to come
2016 Yukon Denali XL - Custom BCM/HMI/IPC


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:27 pm
Posts: 559
Location: Midlothian, TX
Sweet!

Chris, you rock!

Eric, I'm already getting information on the IC chips and processors in the IQ unit you sent me... will let you know when/if I find out anything good regarding bluetooth. I do know that the USB "port" for flashing the unit can probably be enabled for audio files... I can charge my phone using it...

Later,
Tom Slick

_________________
1932 Glassic Ford Model A Roadster Replica - Ford 302/C4, approx. 1400lb... :-)
2015 GMC Sierra SLE Extended Cab - 5.3L


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:06 pm
Posts: 242
Location: Metro Detroit MI
Tom Slick wrote:
Sweet!

Chris, you rock!

Eric, I'm already getting information on the IC chips and processors in the IQ unit you sent me... will let you know when/if I find out anything good regarding bluetooth. I do know that the USB "port" for flashing the unit can probably be enabled for audio files... I can charge my phone using it...

Later,
Tom Slick


I'm sure we could handle the USB port but would need a unit to test obviously, if there is one floating around can I call dibs next? LOL

_________________
Chris White
http://www.whiteautoandmedia.com
2015 Jeep SRT - Stock for a hot minute.
2016 SRX - Custom BCM/HMI - More to come
2016 Yukon Denali XL - Custom BCM/HMI/IPC


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:43 pm 
Offline
Administration Staff

Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:30 pm
Posts: 1261
Location: Canton GA
BCM enroute to Chris today for enabling Remote Start.

Nice to see he's already added Caprice PPV to his website vehicle list!

_________________
Bill Harper
inov8r@windstream.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:36 am
Posts: 241
Location: Fort Worth
So to get these mods we have to pull the cars computer and send it to him?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:33 pm 
Offline
Administration Staff

Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:30 pm
Posts: 1261
Location: Canton GA
Essentially, yes....any "computer" or module (ECM, TCM, BCM, etc) that would be needed to make the specified modification....in my case, I chose to acquire another BCM, have it programmed at the dealer with the same information as the unit in the car, and I will send the original BCM to WAMS for the update for remote start.

It's more expensive, but the other thing it allows, since WAMS is only mail-order, unlike some of the tuning services that travel or offer uploads by e-mail for some automotive flash memory systems, and software currently available for engine & trans re-programming "at home", by having the second BCM, it allows me to keep the car running with a base program when I have additional upgrades I would choose to install in the future (swap BCM's and mail the modified unit back to WAMS)--whether any of those currently listed, or something not yet identified.

_________________
Bill Harper
inov8r@windstream.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:06 pm
Posts: 242
Location: Metro Detroit MI
K9Vic wrote:
So to get these mods we have to pull the cars computer and send it to him?


Correct. This actually has quite a few benefits, the first one being cost. Since I don't have to sit around and develop remote hardware and software to do this I can keep the cost down. Secondly its a controlled environment really no chance of bricking anything when I do it on the bench. I realize it can be a bit of a pain but I have what I like to think is very fast turn around (one weekend) and if you coordinate with me there is a possibility depending on what the product you want is I can get it done on a day during the week and get it back out that same day to you.

_________________
Chris White
http://www.whiteautoandmedia.com
2015 Jeep SRT - Stock for a hot minute.
2016 SRX - Custom BCM/HMI - More to come
2016 Yukon Denali XL - Custom BCM/HMI/IPC


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group