O2 wire harness repair

Electronic systems, stereo and Holden iQ, wiring, it all goes here....
Capeasy

O2 wire harness repair

Post by Capeasy »

Is this a common problem on our PPVs after only about 8 years? I've been battling intermittent PO174 and PO151 codes for the past 2 years and 2 different shops just wanted to change out the O2 sensors and tell me I probably have an intake leak. So before I give up and take it to a 3rd shop I bout a good $500 Autel scanner and a $100 smoke machine to check for intake leaks (but couldn't find any leaks) . So I finally jacked the car up high enough to get underneath it and discovered this missing insulation at the O2 connector plug. WTH ? How did the last 2 shops miss this.
So either the w I res got brittle from heat or over manipulation of replacing O2 sensors? So any advice on getting that harness out and soldering on a new pigtail plug connector?
Thank you for any help on this topic :)
Attachments
Insulation on wire gone .
Insulation on wire gone .
20231109_133722(0).jpg (1.5 MiB) Viewed 1080 times
Could this be from age or heat or even rodents?
Could this be from age or heat or even rodents?
20231109_133821.jpg (1.12 MiB) Viewed 1080 times
Walt (AKA:Capeasy) So. Cal.
2013 Caprice 9C1,Huron white, Blackbear tune, DOD Delete, Texas Speed stage 2 cam with all the goodies, Circle D 258 mm converter, 3200 stall. Spectra CAI, 3.45 Diff, deep trans pan. BlackWidow Venom exhaust,Granatelli oval cutouts, Doug Thorley tri-Y headers, Pedders coilovers,Tower brace, Widend OE. rear wheels to 10" wide with 295 Nitto's
Capeasy

Re: O2 wire harness repair

Post by Capeasy »

Trying to fix this correctly would involve pulling the harness out to solder a new connector. Is it possible to intercept these same 4 wires say up near the top of the motor instead and just onit the current wires in that harness and just run new wires down to the O2 connector?